Stalled Moments from an Impetuous Youth

After my high school graduation I wanted to get a tattoo of Athena’s owl on my left shoulder. I was never a serious dedicant to her cult, nor did I ever meet her (as far as I know), but I admired her. I still admire her to this day. She is strong, intelligent, ruthless and cunning-all traits that are often lacking in historical female figures. I fell into academic lust with her around the same time that I took an interest in Alexander the Great (which lead to a mainly useless history degree with a  focus on Ancient Greece).

The tattoo I wanted was to be one side of an ancient Greek coin I had aquired. It was Athena’s stylized owl with some Greek writing (who knows what it said, most likely something I didn’t want on my body). The owl on the ball of my left shoulder would mirror the pentacle on my right shoulder.

I was reminded of this tattoo today because I have the itch for some new ink settling into my heart. Over the last 10 years I’ve either had tattoo money, but couldn’t find the coin, or had the coin and no money. Always. For ten years I haven’t been able to get my shit together to get this tattoo. Today, it finally hit me why this hasn’t come to pass.

…Someone doesn’t like the idea of me being marked for another.

Hail Loki!

Hail Loki King of “I Licked It, So It’s Mine Now!”

Leave a Reply

