Let It Be or Treatise on Why Compartmentalization Doesn’t Work

This may be less than coherent due to the lateness of the hour here, but I’m going to try to make sure that doesn’t happen. Try.

I have  a tendency to sit around and ruminate on the strange happenings in my life. Of course, I have a tendency to overthink things like my bank account and what I should cook for dinner as well. I ponder the unusual because the usual is well, usual. I pick the strangeness apart because the “happenings” are actually few and far between. Less so than for your average Joe, but every hour of every day isn’t a crazy spirit fest at my house. I can go days or even weeks without something significantly outside the pale happening. But when something spectacularly odd happens, there is a real tendency to stew on it. Hell, even try to assign meaning to it. In a great universe of possibilities there is always the chance that a “paranormal” event is just a fluke. Most likely, actually, statistically speaking.

There really is no such thing as paranormal. Everything is on a sliding scale of normal-as far as day to day life, spirit work, energy work, and ghost activity-things of that nature-are concerned. After a discussion with an intimate friend I’ve come to the conclusion that the reason we (the average American Joe) don’t see this is because we (humans) tend to compartmentalize our lives. Pagans and Heathens and all other varieties of not Christians with a penchant for mysticism even more so because we are already so off the mainstream beaten path that constitutes “normal” in Western Culture.

If something unusual happens-say you and a car load of friends see a semi-transparent man beast thing run across the road in front of your vehicle (Yes, it did. I have 3 other not crazy people who were with me at the time. Good to have corroboration.), you should take it at face value. It is what it is. Why pick it apart? Does it mean that there could be a real life version of predator going on in your neighborhood? Sure. Maybe. Could it mean a million other things? Sure. Maybe. But…in the end, what does it matter? You’re probably not going to see semi-visible man beast thing again. Probably. It certainly never stopped me from wandering the streets after dark.

Sometimes, going with the flow is a good way to go.

But, this isn’t outside of the realm of reality because clearly it happened. Overthinking it and assigning meaning won’t make it NOT have happened.

Don’t compartmentalize. Just live your life.

I’m pretty sure in a different day in age I would have been a Priestess, spending the bulk of my days worrying about the divine and the astral planes, but since I’m not and since I have to function in modern society I can’t afford to sink as much of my day and time into it as I might like. My faith, my religion, my chase toward enlightenment does in fact constitute part of my normal day.

Don’t compartmentalize. Your life is your life. All of it.  

I can’t meditate and talk to Loki from 6 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. and expect him to take a hike the rest of the day. (Besides which, wouldn’t that be rude?) If he wants to hang out while I cook pancakes and make coffee, who am I to judge? Maybe I have a good recipe. On the same token, sometimes when you are driving down a dark street with a carload of people slowing down to turn into your driveway you see weird shit sprint through the snow lightened night and across your neighbor’s lawn when you aren’t expecting anything at all.

What do you do in that situation? Go inside, drink some cheap soda, watch bad movies-in essence, live your life. ‘Cause life goes on.

4 thoughts on “Let It Be or Treatise on Why Compartmentalization Doesn’t Work

  1. One of the first things Loki did was smash my barriers between “mundane” and “sacred” – He was up in my face and determined to be part of daily life. And I had barriers too; this is why the Pop Culture Pagan dustup, I can’t honestly say that I consciously or deliberately worshiped Loki’s fictional avatar. I was Pagan but I worshiped deities as deities. Religion was a separate thing from writing…or so I thought, cause Loki smushed that barrier too.

  2. You do have a good recipe =p Can’t blame Loki for wanting to sit around while you make pancakes. And I don’t even like pancakes and I say you have a good recipe.

Leave a Reply

