Craft Basics: Salt as a Grounding Agent

I had an odd thought the other day when I was standing at my kitchen counter with a container of salt in my hand. I like to buy sea salt. I mean, sure, we all need a certain amount of iodide in our diets to keep us from getting weird goiters and stuff, but unless you are one of those down home wonder people who make all of their own food products you’re getting quite enough of that. I was fantasizing about the deep sea divers in their tight little deep sea diving shorts going down to the bottom of the ocean to harvest the salt (…yes, I know that isn’t how it happens, but let me have my day dreams of hot, tan young men) when I had this thought: I’m using Sea Salt to ground.

Everyone knows that salt grounds you. It grounds you because it is a mineral from the ground. My sea salt is not.

So…does sea salt ground you the same way that salt mined from the earth does or not?

I’m not arguing that sea salt does NOT ground a person, I believe it does, but does it do a less efficient job or does it do it in a different way than traditionally mined salt?

My husband posited that sea salt should ground the same way because the oceans are a large force on the planet-and even the Earth moves, just imperceptibly. I’m still undecided. I haven’t noticed a difference, but then again, I’ve never thought to pay attention.

I think an experiment is in order. I bought some good, old regular salt at the store the other day and I’m going to devise a blind test somehow or have my husband do it.

Does anyone have any experience with this or thoughts? I’m curious!

Leave a Reply

