Jormungandr-The World Snake or Loki’s Child

Jormungandr is one of Loki’s children that I actually seem to get a lot of input from here and there. Whenever I’m not paying attention, when I start ignoring the Otherness around me and slipping too far away from my center and I get back into a regular meditation practice I start getting striking snakes as a vision. It’s terrifying and not-I’ve never been bitten, but I’ve been struck at. I had a snake I dearly loved as a child, so I’m familiar with them. They do have personality, if you know how to look for it. They have likes and dislikes and I’m very convinced that mine loved me, so overall, I wasn’t freaked out by Jormungandr.

A lot of my interactions with Jormungandr have been with a large, exceptionally large, snake or with striking snake visions, but, and here my experience differs from many others I have read, Jormungandr almost always comes through for me as very, potently, male. I’ve had dreams with Jormungandr and some deeper meditations and usually I am presented with a male-late 20’s to early 30’s-black hair, pale skin, dark or green eyes. Very dark on light coloring. He’s flirty and reminds me A LOT of Loki, but He’s very much not. Jormundganr’s energy pattern almost confuses me because at times it is very close to Loki’s. Jormungandr’s energy usually comes across to me as almost darker, as if everything that He (I’m going to go ahead and use He here because this is the way that Jormungander has been presenting to me, so really I feel silly dancing around it because most everyone else gets a more neutral version of the World Serpent) does or says is tinged with taboo-that feeling of treading close to be doing something uncomfortable.

Now, some people might ask me if maybe the antenna on my godphone needs adjusting. Am I discerning correctly? Am I sure that this isn’t Loki I’m interacting with? The answer to that would be: I am 100% sure. Loki is tricky sometimes, and uses many masks, but His energy is always the same. He always feels the same to me. I know when I’m interacting with Loki. I’ve earned that knowledge the hard way. Okay, nothing is fool proof, but if I had to lay money on it I would.

I was completely fine with this, and still am really, but the more I read and try to expand my knowledge and understanding the more I realize other people don’t have this experience of Jormungandr as sexed. Most of what I have read, especially the UPG heavy stuff, says sexless or both sexed. Kaldera even calls into question whether or not anyone who has an experience with Jormungandr where He’s communicating with anything like human type consciousness is actually speaking to Him. I will admit when I first read that I was a little put out, and I did sit down and do some thinking, but when all was said and done I was still sure I’ve been getting communication from The World Serpent, and sometimes I do get the striking snake and nothing else, something that is set to bring my attention running quickly.

The reason I’m blogging about this is because one, my experience seems to have drastically differentiated from that of a lot of others, and two because I like to let my experiences guide me. There is a big tendency to read things written by others and immediately start calling our own experiences into question, which to some degree is okay. It’s not a bad thing to pick at an experience and learn something about ourselves, but there’s also a time to simply trust our own discernment and not fall into the trap of allowing others-simply because they have taken the time to write about it-to steal away our certainty. I believe that as spirit workers we all need to be able to trust in our own abilities or work on them. Everyone has their own filter and their own lessons to learn, so my experiences may not be the same as yours and yours may not be the same as mine, and that doesn’t delegitimize either. Then why do I blog about stuff like this? Because it’s still pretty freakin’ neat when I do find someone who has a shared UPG experience, and also there may be people out there that this info might help. I’d hate for someone to read Kaldera or others and say, “Oh, I’m not really talking to Jormungandr because of XYZ” and not be able to find anything else because everyone who isn’t having that experience is keeping it to themselves.

So, that’s my 2 cents on Jormungandr. I interact with a very male, very dry humored, very down to earth child of Loki, who chooses to present to me as male, though I’ve never seen the clothes come off in the human form interactions. I feel it would be a bit rude of me to call that presentation into question because it doesn’t fit the generally accepted mold. Maybe Jor has dude days and chick days and a-sexual days. I can dig it.

7 thoughts on “Jormungandr-The World Snake or Loki’s Child

  1. I have met Jormungand a few times, both in dreams and in trance visions. Jormungand has been very clearly male, to me, no matter what form He wore. I’ve seen Him as a huge seasnake, a snakeman, and a man with long, black hair and very pale skin.
    He never spoke to me, but seemed to communicate with emotions.

  2. Finally! Something on Jormungandr! I don’t think I’ve worked with him(I see Jor. as a he myself) sometimes I question if it’s loki but then there is also that chance it’s actually Jor. The presence I’ve been working with has that Trickstery feel, but it’s darker. Oddly enough. I once godphoned a dark chuckle from said Trickstery notherny deity, I have no idea what that was about. Anyway! Could you by chance add more information on the lovely world serpent? I’ve been scouring the internet but almost nothing pops up :/

  3. Your UPG actually matches mine, though I believe that even though I see him as male with looks like you describe, he can be also female or both or neither gender if sie wishes. He’s that kind of inbetweener who doesn’t care about what gender she is and so any pronoun can work for xe.

    But male works best for me since I relate to him as my father and while I’ve never specifically talked about how I see him, I have also talked about speaking with him unlike what people such as Kaldera says.

    • LoL I agree the gender is probably a flowing thing for Him. I just only ever get the one side, so that’s what I know. I’ve seen several people use xe before, but I’m unfamiliar with it. I guess I’m going to have to use the powers of google and try to figure that out. 😀

      I think it’s cool that there are at least a few people out there with a similar UPG to mine. I thought it was unusual that Kaldera was so very adamant about the fact that Jor doesn’t communicate like the others-ever- since divine communication can vary so wildly anyway from person to person. There are days when all Loki gives me are the warm happy emotions and there are days when we have conversations. *shrugs*

  4. Hello! I found your blog because Tom mentioned your post to me. I agree that it’s important to give our own experiences weight just as we do those of others. The way you describe the Serpent is definitely a look I’ve seen hir wear, dark on light and very striking. Like Tom, I’ve seen a variety of genders; I think that’s hir choice. I’m used to using genderqueer pronouns, but I definitely don’t think male ones would be “wrong”. Thank you for posting about it!

Leave a Reply

